CnC Source Forums: Can't start a game - CnC Source Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Can't start a game Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   Funstar 

  • Technician
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 07-February 06

Posted 07 February 2006 - 03:45 AM

I got the german version of "Generals - Zero Hour" called "Generäle - Stunde Null" patched to 1.04. I can start the game with your mod, I see the menu, click on "Start new Game", click on "Skirmish". I can't choose a side there, I read something like "MISSING: GDI" and "MISSING: Nod" or something. If I choose one of them or not, when starting the game now, it crashes. Any ideas? Have this problem with TFTW 1.0 and 1.5.
0

#2 User is offline   Colm (Waraddict) 

  • Leader of Tiberian Dawn: Coding Manager, TFTW Team leader
  • Group: Network Leader
  • Posts: 644
  • Joined: 13-September 04

Posted 07 February 2006 - 04:57 AM

Im sorry to say, but unless a mod is managed properlly in terms of loading and exiting (for which TFTW is, it enables upon load and disables upon exit) then you can get serious conflict problems with other mods.

Its likely that this "Generäle - Stunde Null" doesn't properlly enable and disable itself, it probably is 'enabled' perminently meaning when you go to load TFTW, that mod conflicts with TFTW.

How TFTW enables/disables is through renaming files, TFTW bigs start off named as .ftw files so that they are not read by the game, when you go to load TFTW through the launcher though, these .ftw files are renamed to .big files, on exiting the launcher they're renamed back to .ftw.

It's likely that this other mod, already has its mod files named as .big, and it most likely begins with 0, tell me, are there any .big files beginning with 0 in your ZH directory with TFTW disabled?
0

#3 User is offline   Funstar 

  • Technician
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 07-February 06

Posted 08 February 2006 - 06:17 AM

Thanks for your fast anwser. Generäle - Stunde Null is not a mod, it is the german version of Generals - Zero Hour. I found following .big files in the Stunde Null folder:

30.08.2003 21:46 132.239.298 AudioGermanZH.big
30.08.2003 21:48 23.965.542 AudioZH.big
31.08.2003 05:53 787.464 genseczh.big
09.02.2005 13:12 82.284.636 GermanZH.big
15.03.2005 11:21 18.764.687 INIZH.big
10.03.2005 14:13 39.749.312 MapsZH.big
30.08.2003 20:38 786.724 Music.big
30.08.2003 21:53 34.741.916 MusicZH.big
03.02.2005 10:30 118.822 PatchZH.big
30.08.2003 21:53 996 ShadersZH.big
30.08.2003 21:50 238.414.656 SpeechGermanZH.big
30.08.2003 21:53 6.174.552 SpeechZH.big
30.08.2003 21:41 8.660.432 TerrainZH.big
30.08.2003 21:43 222.753.036 TexturesZH.big
30.08.2003 21:58 2.953.768 W3DGermanZH.big
30.08.2003 21:42 189.741.064 W3DZH.big
05.08.2004 13:44 8.493.653 WindowZH.big
0

#4 User is offline   Golan 

  • funky spacebeat opposition
  • Group: Network Mod Staff
  • Posts: 212
  • Joined: 30-October 05

Posted 08 February 2006 - 09:19 AM

There should be no problem due to "Die Stunde Null", I have it myself and it works fine.

All the .big-files are the normal DS0 ones.

If you want to get rid of the "Missing"-bug, you´ll have to extract one of the modfiles to fix it. Use a bigextractor like "XCC-Mixer" or "Finalbig" and open the file "09TFTWEnglish.ftw"/"09TFTWEnglish.big" (the ending depends on the mod beeing enabled or not) which should be found in the "...Programme\EA Games\Command & Conquer Generäle Stunde Null"-directory. There should be a file called "Data/English/generals.csf" in it. Extract this one and place it in the folder "[..]Programme\EA Games\Command & Conquer Generäle Stunde Null\Data\German", you may eventually have to create the "german"-folder yourself.

To the crash, is it a "serious error"? A friend of mine once had such a problem with TFTW, even though we both had the exactly same verion of DS0 (not even a sign of a missmatch in a 45min game :P) I could play TFTW without any problem while he couldn´t even start it. Well, um that´s not very usefull as we didn´t find a way to fix it. :D Nonetheless, you might try using an older patch of ZH, in my opinion 1.2 could do the trick, but I´m not really familiar with the actual TFTW version, so perhaps it´s better to see if Waraddict can help you.
0

#5 User is offline   Funstar 

  • Technician
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 07-February 06

Posted 08 February 2006 - 12:58 PM

Yes, it is a serious error.
0

#6 User is offline   Colm (Waraddict) 

  • Leader of Tiberian Dawn: Coding Manager, TFTW Team leader
  • Group: Network Leader
  • Posts: 644
  • Joined: 13-September 04

Posted 08 February 2006 - 01:06 PM

Hmm, could you go to the Zero Hour Data directory in your My Docomeents folder, open the ReleaseCrashInfo.txt file and post its contents.

Of course, chances are, the error's in German.... :rolleyes:

Still, I might be able to make something of it...
0

#7 User is offline   Colm (Waraddict) 

  • Leader of Tiberian Dawn: Coding Manager, TFTW Team leader
  • Group: Network Leader
  • Posts: 644
  • Joined: 13-September 04

Posted 08 February 2006 - 01:13 PM

Wait, something just occured to me, the problem is probably with the 00TFTWEnglish.ftw file, I need to change the file references inside it for the german version, I'm afraid I can't upload it here due to a 2MB limit so it will be a small while (few odd days) before it becomes accessable (currently I don't have ftp access you see, have to e-mail it to Assassin).

If you like, you can try it out yourself, all you do is open 00TFTWEnglish.ftw with FinalBig and do the following with each file entry...

-select the file entry
-go to Edit on the menu
-go to Rename File (click Yes for edit mode, you won't have to do this again though)
-Replace the 'English' part of the file name with 'German' and click okay
-repeat with next file
-make sure you save the ftw file when finished
0

#8 User is offline   Funstar 

  • Technician
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 07-February 06

Posted 08 February 2006 - 01:15 PM

ReleaseCrashInfo.txt
Release Crash at Wed Feb 08 14:47:21 2006
; Reason Uncaught Exception in GameEngine::update

Last error:
Exception is access violation
WinMain at 401700
Error code: EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION
Description: The thread tried to read from or write to a virtual address for which it does not have the appropriate access.
Access address:0000000C was read from.

Stack Dump:
  <Unknown>(-1) : <Unknown> 0x0051BEB6

Details:
Register dump...
Eip:0051BEB6	Esp:0012F69C	Ebp:00000002
Eax:09458F4C	Ebx:0000000E	Ecx:00000000
Edx:00000002	Esi:00000000	Edi:00000000
EFlags:00010206 
CS:0023  SS:002b  DS:002b  ES:002b  FS:0053  GS:002b
EIP bytes dump...

Bytes at CS:EIP (0051BEB6)  : 8B 79 0C 33 D2 85 F6 8B C7 74 22 85 C0 74 08 4E 8B D0 8B 40 30 75 F4 85 D2 74 12 8B 4A 30 8B 44 


Current stack:

0

#9 User is offline   Funstar 

  • Technician
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 07-February 06

Posted 08 February 2006 - 01:39 PM

Did the changes you told me to do. Now I can choose GDI and Nod, nothing missing. But whem I start th game, the serious error comes again. ReleaseCrashInfo.txt looks like above.
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users