• 2 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Red Alert 3 Timeline Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   Killerkidd 

• Civilian
  • Group: Members

Posted 09 January 2009 - 06:43 PM

This is my first time posting here, but I've been a "mainstay" in the C&C community for years. From starting off at RA2Mods.com as a complete n00b, to hosting a fighting game at FedNet, to running Stardust Studios and chillin at C-GEN, I have a pedigree for all things C&C.

That said, the ambiguity of Red Alert 3 kind of irks me. Not so much the game itself -- rather the timeline. I played the game in this fashion (and it was on 360, which is an excellent port of an RTS I must say...so glad I no longer need to buy new hardware for each C&C game): Soviets, Empire, Allies.

The way I played it made the timeline very, very tough to figure out. Reading the manual (which you have to do for the 360 or else you'll never learn all the shortcuts) I gathered this, from the synopsis.

"The Soviets are at the brink of destruction from the Allied threat. The commander [Tim Curry] and General Krukov escape in a top secret time machine. Back in the past, they kill Einstein, and affecting the outcome of the war. Now, the Allies are at the end of their campaign when a new threat, the Empire of the Rising Sun, arrives onto the scene"

Ok, I got that. Now, let's look at some of the tech. First of all, the Empire has freaking transforming mechs. The Soviets' have armor that looks way too sophisticated for the 1940s and the same with the Allied technology, especially the Athena cannon.

Now, each headquarters has plasma TVs to video conference through and the cut scenes are just as ambigious. One cut scene shows civilians watching TVs that look like they were from the 80s, and one shows a teenage couple making out in front of an old timey wood panel TV. Did I mention that the Japanese thrive on transforming technologies?